Because This Makes Me ANGRY, On a Serious Note, What the Fuck?

We All Lose

It is the 19th of January 2017. I am sitting in my boyfriend’s (yes, you read correctly) flat and waiting for him to finish working.

I mentioned the date for a reason. It is the eve of Donald Trump’s presidential inauguration. Regardless of what you think of him, this is going to be a time to remember.

I, for one, think that he’s a piece of shit.

When I first heard that Trump was running for president, I thought it was a joke. Surely no one in their right mind would vote for this clown, right? Right???

It turns out that a lot of people were not in their right minds. I’ll be honest and say that Hillary definitely wasn’t my first choice, but COME ON. Your choice is between a qualified woman with a political career spanning decades, and… a reality TV “star” who has filed for bankruptcy numerous times. This is also a man who is known to be sexist, racist, homophobic, and just, well, deplorable in every sense of the word.

As the campaigning intensified, a slow dread came over me. What started out as laughable began snowballing into a monster. I started realizing that it really was possible. And then it happened. I cried. I sobbed.

Of course the question arises: why do I care? I’m a white, male South African citizen who has no big desire to go to America. I could go into huge detail. But my answer is this:

I find it horrifying to think that this man, who mocked a handicapped reporter, who called a woman a fat pig, who joked about sexually assaulting women, who has more than one accusation of rape and assault (including children), who referred to Mexicans as “bad hombres” after promising to build a wall à la Hitler, who has appointed a vice president who supports the barbaric practice of gay conversion therapy… THIS MAN is now the president of the United States. How can I not be upset? How can I not think of all the people who will be affected so badly?

What scares me is the fact that his hatefulness is what made people support him in the first place. The world is filled with a lot more evil than we can ever fathom.

What is going to happen?

 

“Disrespect invites disrespect. Violence incites violence. When the powerful use their position to bully others, we all lose.” ~ Meryl Streep

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Twitter

Standard

2 thoughts on “We All Lose

  1. Pingback: Hello? Am I Still Here? | Life and Other Catastrophes

Leave a Reply

