My People

When Words Fail

Today is a very difficult day.

Tomorrow my very best friend is moving to Cape Town. I met Annetjie Schröder (originally Hoon) when I was six years old, and in the last ten years we have become especially close. We share a love for acting and our friendship truly started when we performed together in a high school production of The Real Inspector Hound in 2006.

Annetjie is the kind of person who only comes around once in a lifetime. That’s why I know that it would be stupid to even think of trying to find someone to replace her. I can’t. No one has ever accepted and supported me so completely, and I doubt that anyone ever will again. She was Glinda and I was Elphaba from Wicked. She didn’t care about what other people thought of me. She supported me with all her might.

I know that this is not the end. I know that our friendship will always continue. Twenty years from now we will still be in contact and see each other whenever possible. But I have a hard time accepting that she will no longer be a fifteen minute drive away. I’ve always thought of her as the person I would call if my car broke down next to the road. She was my safety net. Now I’m not so sure of whom I can count on. I have other friends in Pretoria, and I love them too, but I also know that I am just another friend to them. I’m not their best friend. I have to put in an effort to keep my other friendships alive. It’s not like that with Annetjie. It’s always been easy.

I know that Annetjie will be happy in Cape Town. She and her husband Marcel are going to start a brand new life together. They will experience wonderful things together. I’m trying to not be my dramatic self, but I am honest when I say that this breaks my heart.

I wish that I could write this better, but no words can express what I’m trying to say.

Annetjie, dankie vir die ongelooflike mens wat jy is. My lewe is soveel ryker omdat jy daarvan deel is. Jy sal altyd een van die mees belangrike mense in my lewe wees.

Net liefde.

IMG_20160429_211116

This is my favorite picture of the two of us, because it sums our friendship up perfectly. No matter how sad I am, Annetjie always makes me feel better.

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Twitter

Standard

Leave a Reply

