Attempts at Inspiration, Rambling

I’ll Be Better This Time

As I’ve said before, 2015 wasn’t a good year. A lot of things went wrong. People died. Friendships died. Romance died. Overall it was just a shitty year. And that goes for this blog as well.

In 2014, my first year of blogging, I did quite well, but last year I neglected my blog and got less than half the amount of views that I did in my first year. In all honesty, last year I didn’t have the benefit of one of my posts going viral like the one about my friend Jodie did in 2014. But that happened by accident. I never meant for it to blow up like that.

I think that my main reason for slipping was because I fell out of love with writing for a while. I wanted to prove that I could be an actor without having to write as a backup. Silly, right?

The second reason why I didn’t do so well was because I tried to write things that I thought would attract attention. I tried to write for other people and not for myself. This was probably my biggest mistake. My most “successful” blog posts are the ones that come from my heart. As I’ve said before, I believe that creativity needs to be selfish.

So…

From now on I’m going to try and write more about the things I feel strongly about. I’m going to try and post at least once a week, but I’m not going to write anything just for the sake of it. As I look back on when I started blogging, I realize that I’ve changed very much as a writer. I use to have more of a sense of humor in my writing, but somehow I lost it. I want to try and get it back, but I’m not quite sure how. I’ve also made the mistake of deliberately trying to be funny, and that also backfired.

So now I’m going to let my muse lead me. I don’t make any money out of this blog. Maybe I never will, but that’s okay. This is more about self expression and trying to be a better person and writer than it is about making money.

Money is ugly. It ruins creativity.

“Writing is like sex. First you do it for love, then you do it for your friends, and then you do it for money.” ~ Virginia Woolf

 

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Twitter

Standard

2 thoughts on “I’ll Be Better This Time

  1. “The second reason why I didn’t do so well was because I tried to write things that I thought would attract attention. I tried to write for other people and not for my self…”

    Oh baby you got it! I’ve been blogging just under 20 Years, but I’ve been writing since as far back as I can remember.

    Without fail, the posts that do the best in terms of views and shares and all that blogging shouldn’t be about, is when I write truthfully. My reality. Down to not picking up a Minor blade. You get the feeling.

    Always, always write for you. If others enjoy it, Yay! … If they don’t, too bad.

    Be authentic. Be yourself. Write your truth.

    I wish you enough,
    Wenchy

    Like

  2. Pingback: He Doesn’t Have To Like You | Life and Other Catastrophes

Leave a Reply

