Because This Makes Me ANGRY

Facebook is Sending Me to Hell

If you follow me on any kind of social media, you’ll know that I am quite a regular customer. I don’t want to say that I’m addicted, because then I have to do something about it. But I often find myself doing it for hours.

I was a relatively late bloomer. I only got Facebook about three years ago, because I thought it was boring. And then I started using it every day. And then I got Twitter because I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. And then I got hooked to that. And recently I got Instagram to spy on other people’s pictures. And now I can’t stop spying.

Now, I have noticed that you get different types of social media users. It’s like the cliques in high school. There are the people who post endless pictures of their ugly babies (and all the liars telling them how beautiful the little bastards are, encouraging them to post more pictures). There are the people who post hundreds of pictures of their cats (me). There are the not-so-funny jokers (me), the vulgar people (me), the TMIs (me), and the list goes on (me). But then there is a group of people that I just can’t stand: the Jesus freaks.

I realize that I’m dipping my toes into dangerous waters here. It’s never a good idea to write about religion, because it makes people want to attack you like a bunch of wild dogs. But this is something that has been irritating me for a long time. I really don’t mind it if someone wants to post a scripture verse or say that they are grateful to God for whatever reason, but what I really can’t stand is those people who post those “like or die” pictures. You’ve all seen them. On the one side will be a picture of Jesus with the word LIKE under it and on the other side will be the flames of Hell with the word IGNORE under it. There is nothing, and I mean NOTHING that pisses me off more. I highly doubt that when you get to the Pearly Gates, Saint Peter is going to say; “Well, you did do all these terrible things and you never repented for them, but wow girl, you liked 500 of those Jesus pictures on Facebook, so you get to go in!” or “Well, you’ve been a decent, good person for most of your life, but you kept scrolling when the Jesus picture came up, so sorry. Say hi to my childhood bully in Hell.”

I can't STAND this!

I can’t STAND this!

I don’t understand Christians. I mean, you don’t see Muslims shoving Allah in your face or Jews saying “Guys, look at my super cool new Yamaka that I bought today. Those other Jewish boys are gonna be so jealous! #Yamaka #Jewish #TeamJewish #Ihavehairunderneath #burninHellHitler #Jewishboy.” Maybe it’s because other religions are so used to being suppressed and overpowered that they decide to keep it to themselves.

It’s not that I’m trying to be nasty, but I just think that people need to stop caring so much about image and whether or not someone else thinks you are an upstanding citizen. We need to focus on what we really are. It doesn’t help you post all these things, but in the meantime you couldn’t care less. Personally, I do believe in God. I believe in Jesus and the Holy Spirit. But I don’t feel the need to proclaim it every five minutes. I believe that sacred things are secret, and my position with the Good Lord is none of your business.

I'm more likely to like this picture.

I’m more likely to like this picture.

Follow me on Twitter

Standard

9 thoughts on “Facebook is Sending Me to Hell

  1. Pingback: My 30 Minute Love Affair | Life and Other Catastrophes

  2. Pingback: Bring That (Classy) Booty Back! | Life and Other Catastrophes

  3. Pingback: The Grindr Chronicles | Life and Other Catastrophes

  4. Pingback: The Friendship Breakup | Life and Other Catastrophes

  5. Pingback: Grieving: I Didn’t Get The Memo | Life and Other Catastrophes

  6. Pingback: The Quarter Life Crisis | Life and Other Catastrophes

  7. Pingback: Rumor Has It | Life and Other Catastrophes

  8. Pingback: Give Me a Feather | Life and Other Catastrophes

Leave a Reply

